CFO Jimmy's Patronis' Seal

Press Release

Contact our Office of Communications | 850.413.2842

**PHOTO RELEASE** CFO and State Fire Marshal Jimmy Patronis Honors Florida's Outstanding Firefighters During 2020 Fire Service Awards


Patronis with Firefighters

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. - Florida Chief Financial Officer (CFO) and State Fire Marshal Jimmy Patronis along with Agriculture Commissioner Nikki Fried recognized members of Florida’s firefighting community for their outstanding accomplishments in the fire service industry during the 2020 Fire Service Awards today at the Florida Capitol. Each individual or facility was nominated and selected by various fire service organizations across Florida.
CFO and State Fire Marshal Jimmy Patronis said, “Today, we honored the outstanding members of Florida’s incredible fire service community who work around the clock to protect Floridians. Day after day these dedicated men and women run towards danger. But it’s not just the firefighters that keep our communities safe. It’s the educators, inspectors, investigators, instructors, volunteers, and training centers that ensure we are protected. I cannot thank these fire service professionals enough for their outstanding service to their communities and our great state.”
2020 Florida Fire Service Award Recipients
• Florida Fire Chief of the Year – Ryan Lamb – City of Cape Coral Fire Department (Cape Coral, FL)
• Florida Career Firefighter of the Year – Jacob Gercak - Winter Park Fire - Rescue Department (Winter Park, FL)
• Florida Forestry Firefighter of the Year – David Kent – Florida Forest Service (Bay County, FL)
• Florida Fire Marshal of the Year – Jennifer “Jeni” Pierce – City of Clermont Fire Department (Clermont, FL)
• Florida Fire Inspector of the Year – Lora Gugliemini – City of Cape Coral Fire Department (Cape Coral, FL)
• Florida Professional Firefighter of the Year – Matt Willhite – Palm Beach County Fire Rescue (Wellington, FL)
• Florida Fire Service Instructor of the Year – David Gates – Miami-Dade Fire Rescue
• Florida Fire Investigator of the Year – John McGrath – Lakeland Fire Department (Lakeland, FL)
• Volunteer Firefighter of the Year – Jack Eck – Union County Fire Department (Lake Butler, FL)
• Fire and Life Safety Public Educator of the Year – Claudia Faiola – East Lake Fire Rescue (Palm Harbor, FL)
• Florida Training Center of the Year – Eastern Florida State College – (Palm Kay, FL)
• Fire-based EMS Team of the Year - Palm Beach County Fire Rescue State ALS Team

Back to Press Releases